The History of Pantera

Pantera is one of the more important and influential heavy metal bands to come out in the last 20 years.  They were one of the few Metal bands that survived the great purge of the 90s and keep interest in metal alive in the mainstream thanks to their powerful sound and wild presence.  It seems that whenever I play any Pantera song my blood starts rushing in my veins and I gotta get moving, excellent work out music.  But, did you know that during the 1980s Pantera was a Glam band?

 

37de71b52ceccaffffa1036f66723c9b
Pantera during the 80s 

Ha! probably not an image you’d expect to see regarding how we all remember the band during their heyday.  Its not very much known by a lot of people that these guys were trying to make it big with typical 1980s Glam tracks and Ballads.  In fact its extremely hard to believe.  I remember when I first found out I was so stunned my jaw literally dropped. But we all start somewhere and at least we can all thank that they got their act together later and and gave us some of the best metal albums you can find.

So over the course of the next few weeks i’m going to go through the strange and interesting history of Pantera, covering their time as a 1980s glam band to the end when the band was no more.  I’ll review their records and any material I can find, as well as tell some interesting facts I could find of the band.  Hopefully you enjoy the ride.

 

Feel free to comment below and critique my writing in any constructive way, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Author: michaelrgrezlikowski

UCF Marketing Major and Mass Communication Minor

Leave a Reply

